Life Cycle of the Mosquito

Mosquito Life Cycle

Mosquitoes have 4 separate stages in their development:

  1. Eggs
  2. Larvae
  3. Pupae
  4. Adult

The first three stages occur in the water (the eggs may be on wet or damp soil). The larvae also go through four stages (called instars) in its development into a pupae.

The adult is the active, flying insect most of us are familiar with, and feeds upon plant juices and nectar for food. The female needs blood from a host for egg development.